Revisiting Old (TV) Friends

I was surfing through my usual YouTube news feed where I see a bunch of different videos from reaction videos, to tech reviews, to sports talk or highlights, to political commentary; when out of nowhere, a most interesting out of the box video was recommended to me. Somewhere, somehow, the YouTube algorithm figured out that I was a fan of Scrubs (though I haven’t seen this show in ages) and recommended a reunion panel that was taking place at the ATX TV Festival in Austin, TX.

Needless to say, this definitely piqued my interest and I happily watched it. Watching this panel I realized that Bill Lawrence, creator of Scrubs, also co-created another show that I really like called Ted Lasso. Boy am I oblivious. the sense of humor of both shows are so similar how could I not make that connection? Anyways, I also discovered the podcast that is done by Zach Braff and Donald Faison, called Fake Doctors. Real Friends, where they re-watch Scrubs episodes, talk about their experience with said episode and also invite fellow cast members or guest stars to also talk about their experience on the show. They even have fans call in to ask questions about the show or about Zach, Donald and company in general.

This panel has rekindled my Scrubs fandom and I’m now re-watching it alongside the podcast. The podcast is definitely a great companion piece to listen alongside the show. The irony, the podcast episodes can go for an hour or more; whereas, each tv episode generally runs around 22 minutes or so. So of course, I’m already on season 3 of the show but I’m still listening to Zach and Donald talk about season 2 and trying to remember the episodes I’ve already watched a while. I’m trying to hold off on binging more Scrubs episodes so I can catch up with the podcast but it is feeling like a losing battle.

Regardless, I found a fresh way to rewatch Scrubs and it has made my viewing experience all the more richer.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.