Social Networks Are Losing Their Hold On Me

It’s been some time since my last post. One significant change since then is my lack of Social Network interaction. I removed Facebook and Twitter from my devices about two months. I deleted my Instagram account a while ago. Oh yeah, I removed Snapchat from my phone recently as well. I just don’t see the point in any of them. At least not for me.

If anything, they were a big time suck. There were times when I felt I “needed” to go on them to “feel connected” with the world and those around me. Other times, I would go down my newsfeeds and then realized that I wasted hours away and have to rush other things the rest of my day. There was never a moderate way to use social networks. More importantly, I didn’t feel more connected to anyone using them. If anything, I felt more isolated from everyone and more of a stalker than a participant of some post on any of these social networks.

There have actually been recent studies about how people are getting more depressed while using social media. I agree with them. I did feel less than when I would look at how “great” everyone else is doing compare to myself. It made me think about things in a more superficial and superfluous way. Since I’ve omitted social networks from my life, I have been feeling a better sense of self-worth. Also I have more time for ingesting things that I genuinely enjoy. Whether it be reading, listening to music, watching shows (catching up on shows actually), etc.

Yesterday, in fact, after the all the hoopla of the solar eclipse that didn’t seem to pass over New York City (at least I didn’t see the sky darken at any point in time), I went on a little walk around Central Park, looked around and enjoyed it’s splendor in a way I haven’t in some time. I really started impressing on my mind the grandeur and scale it took to create this thing in the 19th century that is still standing today in most of its original form. I was especially awestruck when I finally took a little break around Bethesda Terrace and just admired the view. It’s amazing to see the work that went into it and the work that’s going into it to preserve it to this day.

Anyway, my point is, I feel like I”m living a much fuller life excising social networks from it and not because of them. And there are some sites and internet services that will prompt to connect my Facebook profile to them etc, but I will not budge. I haven’t deleted my accounts yet (to date, I’ve deleted my FB 3 times and came back for some reason or other), but if things continue as they are and social networks cease to even be an afterthought, I may get rid of them altogether.

2 thoughts on “Social Networks Are Losing Their Hold On Me

Leave a Reply

