I’m a fan of The Ranch

I never thought I would say that I’m a fan of this show but here we are. It has all the ingredients for something that I would automatically dislike. Rednecks who are Republican-minded, not fans of Obama, and are into country music. Yet despite that, I now find myself 2 episodes in season 2 (Part 2) and I thought let me take a breather and talk about it.

The show has a stellar cast, starring Ashton Kutcher, Danny Masterson (both of that 70’s Show fame), Debra Winger and Sam Elliot as the Bennetts. They are a family of cattle Ranchers down on their luck. Ashton Kutcher is the prodigal son who comes back after a failed semi-pro football career and is figuring out his life at the age of 34. He left the family 15 years prior to pursue said football career and now has to come with grips of that decision by convincing his stoic man of the earth father Beau (played by Sam Elliot) and smart ass talking older brother. Adding to the dynamic, is Debra Winger, the matriarch, who moved out of the ranch to run her bar and live in an Airstream trailer but yeah comes back every so often for a booty call with dear old dad.

It makes for a riveting family dynamic that keeps me coming despite some of the aspects that I would normally abhor and stay away from. The writing is just that good. What actually got me made me think to give this show a show was a recent interview that Ashton Kutcher had with Stephen Colbert. After wowing me with his venture capitalist investment stories he mentioned that he was in this show that was in the vein of the old Roseanne sitcom of the 80s with that blue collar dynamic. I was a fan of Roseanne in my youth and that was the seed that finally grew roots and made me finally check the show out.

I’m glad I did. Like I said, 2 days later and 12 episodes deep, I’m invested in the Bennetts plight and wish them the best.

Leave a Reply

