Thinking The New Google Chromebook Might Be The Perfect Computer For My Mom

When I read the blog reports of the new $249 Google Chromebook, I was immediately drawn in. At first I was thinking if it would be enough for my needs, since the majority of my computer use is web surfing, video watching and the occasional blog posts on WordPress and Tumblr (which are both done on their respective websites). I currently use a 2009 13-inch MacBook Pro which is about to run out of its warranty in December and I know for a fact there is no way I can afford a new Mac. Naturally $249 is an attractive price point.

But as I went over the different things I do with my computer, and what I may potentially do (I may want to record an audio podcast again), it became more obvious that the Chromebook wasn’t going to fill all my needs. And Google is very aware of this fact. In fact their PR spin on the Chromebook is that it’s a good second computer to have around the house (how many people can really afford or use a second computer in their household? Unless you consider a smartphone a sort of quasi second computer).

Now my mother on the other hand is making do with an old hand me down G4 Powerbook that has pretty much seen it’s time. As a machine it runs fine but unfortunately, Apple has no use for machines they deem unworthy and consequently the browsers that are able to run on it are no longer up to date and can barely handle most sites because of compatibility issues and expired plugins.

The Google Chromebook would solve this issue for my mother. She only uses the computer to check her Gmail accounts and really only when I’m around. The reason  is, she isn’t the most computer literate person around and no matter how much I’ve tried to make checking her email easy for her she finds a way to undo all my customizations. Apple Mail somehow will lose her password that she never seems to remember. Alias icons mysteriously disappear from the Dock. Desktop icons somehow cease to function.

With the Chromebook, her email account will be her automatic sign-in (at least I think it will be. I’ll be setting it up for her to be that easy in any case). This should make checking her email as easy as just turning on the computer and opening the browser within seconds. As for software updates, since this really is just a browser OS Google will keep it updated frequently and this computer, in theory will never have to be replaced because of obsolescence. At least that’s the idea I’m getting of the Chromebook’s potential to be my mother’s new computer. Am I wrong in this estimation? I’ll appreciate any feedback.

3 thoughts on “Thinking The New Google Chromebook Might Be The Perfect Computer For My Mom

  1. Just received my Samsung Chromebook today… So far so great and I think it will be perfect for your mom. Real clean and simple… Different from a traditional laptop (not sure you can have desktop icons… all the “apps” are in the task bar on the bottom) but boots up fast as advertised, great keyboard, web cam sufficient, google hangouts are fun, and the ability to log onto one of my other computers from the chromebook is a great feature (and it actually looks workable). Even the sound comes through when remote logging into my desktop (which somewhere I read it didn’t)… I was able to play songs from my itunes.

    Anyway, back to your mom… I would go for it… It’s as easy to set up as you guessed and seems like its a good 2nd computer or primary for her needs.

    • Thanks for the feedback. I’m glad it sounds as simple as I’m expecting it should. Will be ordering it as soon as it becomes available again. Everywhere I’ve looked it seems to be out of stock. I’d really like to know how many units actually sold.

  2. Pingback: Going To Test Living In An All Chrome World | JULIO FROM NY

Leave a Reply

