Still On The Fence About Android

I really want to take the plunge and switch to an Android device. I’m currently an iPhone user, as you regular readers know, and though I can’t find any real fault with my phone (bad 3G connections in certain parts of NYC, lack of 4G LTE and no Swype notwithstanding) I feel like I’m ready to try something different. I’ve been using an iPhone since the 3G and for about 4 years have thoroughly enjoyed the app store and the upgrades and evolution of iOS. It’s just that Android seems to be more innovative, customizable and new that I’ve been itching to try it since Gingerbread and the promise of Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0). Well it’s finally here and there are some new phones with it already and some new ones on the way that got my attention; however, there are some cons that are still keeping me on the fence for some reason or other.

HTC One S/X:

I read a lot of blog reviews on the HTC One S and X and I like just about everything about it. The limitation of storage capacity is the only knock on it and unfortunately it’s a big one for me. For whatever reason, HTC decided to release this phone on T-Mobile and on AT&T with just 16GB of storage capacity of which only 12 is actually available for use and without an expansion microSD slot. They try to curtail most of the storage space gripes by offering 25GB of free storage space with Dropbox for 2 yrs (basically the term of your cell phone contract). This would be a cool feature for me if docs and pictures were what took up most of my storage space. Of course this isn’t the case. I mainly use up the storage space of my 32GB iPhone with podcasts and music.

I’m guessing that this suppose to push people who get this phone to switch over to more cloud and data oriented services like streaming music and podcast apps. This of course may lead to overages if you go over your current data plan or upgrade to a higher one (if you’re not on Sprint or T-Mobile that is). I myself on average never go past 1GB of data on my plan.

I will be experimenting this month on my phone by streaming most my podcasts and music with Stitcher Radio, Slacker, Pandora, and iTunes Match to see how much space I need if I hardly use any and gauge how close I’ll get to my 2GB data limit. So far it’s not too promising on the storage end. Currently my phone still has 2.8GB of audio, .45GB of photos and 10GB of apps for a grand total of 13.25GB of space. With this scenario I would have to also limit how many apps I could have on a HTC One X phone.

Samsung Galaxy S III:

Today was Samsung’s big unveiling of their new Samsung Galaxy S III phone that will be available in the States sometime in June (May 29 in Europe). This phone answers all my concerns that I have with the HTC One X by offering 32GB and 64GB models as well as an option for expansion with a microSD slot. On top of that they also offer 50GB of storage space with Dropbox (that’s 25 more than with HTC!). The one knock on this device for me, though it might not be a complete killer, is the HD Super AMOLED Pentile screen display. Apparently it is more pixellated than a Super LCD screen and it is a real battery killer. One of the things I love about my iPhone is how I never have to worry about it dying on me while I’m out and about. I just charge it overnight and it’s good to go the next day. Also being used to Retina display I don’t know how I would feel about going back to a pixellated screen. I’m going to wait till June when the phone comes out so I can check it out at the local AT&T store before I make my final judgements about this device.

Samsung Galaxy S III vs. HTC One X:

Based on what I’ve read Samsung has HTC beat on just about every category except the screen. HTC has Samsung beat on the look and feel of their phone. Again like I said before, I’m going to have to wait to see both phones so I can play with them both and see what I think about them.

The New iPhone On The Horizon:

Then of course there are the rumors of the new iPhone that is on the horizon with some kind of liquid metal casing and a new 4″ display. The WWDC will be happening in June, quashing most of the rumors and confirming others. I really hope the rumor about the new iPhone having 4G LTE is true. Like I said I really can’t find any fault on my iPhone 4 other than I’m a little bored with it and I wish it had Swype and 4G LTE.

The iPhone will most likely be available to buy in September which is exactly when my contract is up and I’m free to jump ship or get a new 2 yr-contract with AT&T. Being on the fence, I’ll most likely stick it out with my current device until then before I make any final decision. I really want to make a switch but it’s looking more and more like I’ll just get an updated version of what I already have.

What are your thoughts on the new Smartphones becoming available? I’d like to discuss.

3 thoughts on “Still On The Fence About Android

  1. Pingback: Finally Making The Jump To The Android Side | JULIO FROM NY

Leave a Reply

