Oh What To Do With Squidoo!

So my buddy and co-host of the Mundane Chatter Podcast, Yomar, kept talking my ear about this social networking too called Squidoo (Pronounced Squid-Dew) and finally I decided to give it a try. Yet another night taken away from my much valued tv watching!

Anyway the way the folks at Squidoo explain it this platform is:

The popular publishing platform and community that makes it easy for you to create “lenses” online. Lenses are pages, kind of like flyers or signposts or overview articles, that gather everything you know about your topic of interest–and snap it all into focus. Like the lens of a camera, your perspective on something. (You’re looking at a lens right now).

It’s a supersimple, fun and powerful way to share your interests, build your online identity and credibility, and connect with new readers and friends.

So basically you create a “lens” or page dedicated to an interest you may have and try to create a community gathering around it. I guess it’s kind of like a forum thread only with the look and feel of an interactive blog (if that makes any sense). I’m still trying to make sense out of it. All I know is that it took me a hell of a time completing one.

If anyone’s interested, feel free to check out my “lens” about my favorite sci-fi show of all time, Farscape. Here’s hoping to see you there.

Oh yeah, Yomar also made a Squidoo lens for our podcast if you want to check that out as well.

2 thoughts on “Oh What To Do With Squidoo!

    • I still can’t really figure it out but I don’t think they’re aim is to take on the big guys. They’ve been around for a number of years and I think they want to be some type of supplement.

Leave a Reply

