Housework Confounds My Creative Process

I hate housework. I hate how it pervades my every waking day. Just interrupting me, irking me, getting under my skin and completely overwhelming my thought process. It’s hard for me to sit down and get on writing when I see dishes in the sink that need cleaning, piles of mess everywhere that need organizing, floors that need to be vacuumed and mopped, laundry that needs doing, etc.

It made me come to a conclusion. Artists need to be selfish to get their creative visions realized and I’m not sure I have that level of selfishness in me. I’ve been married for 13+ years. All I know is compromise and helping out. I don’t think I can deviate from that pattern of my life. Yet if I don’t I feel that my creative output will continue to be stifled. It seems like a catch 22. I wonder if there is a way to have some kind of balance between those two mindsets?

Obviously, I’m going to try to come up with a solution to this. I don’t have any other option. I love the life I have and I love the opportunity I currently have. I hope both these options can coexist harmoniously.

7 thoughts on “Housework Confounds My Creative Process

  1. I know man ive been together for 13 yrs or so my self but for the last 3 months ive been a single parent i hate it it stops me from being creative i did all the house work last night but my bedrooms those will get done some time this week 2day i spent the better half of the morning in the garage being creative almost took my hand off with the table saw need to be more careful

  2. I try to pick up/clean 20 things a day. Generally that helps me stay on top of the general crazyness and it doesn’t stifle me. Try it!

  3. I know this very well!

    When you do WFH stuff, creative or not, it’s hard to get people to respect your work (and your time). The Very Hungry Bookworm may be on to something. I like to feel accomplished at the end of each day so incorporating chores into my daily workflow helps make it seem more like productivity than mere distraction.

    I know what you mean about being selfish. I’ve had to offload some of my project work just to keep up with my daily life. Right now, I’m still trying to condition those around me so that they know that, if I am sitting on my computer (with noise-cancellation headphones on no less), more than likely I am trying to get stuff done.

    There is no simple solution but I posted my thoughts up on my own blog. One of the things I forgot to mention was sharing your “end game” with those closest and dearest to you. What does all your creative work build up to? Most people only understand immediate gains so building up a following alone is just the start.. How can you create some monetary gain?

    Ah, therein lies the rub: we do what we do becausde we believe in it and are passionate about it.. Does monetizing ruin the purity of our life’s work? I think not. It needs to be done right but it is doable…

    Great article, Julio! =oD

    • Very true. It took me till now to think that making money from your creative pursuits is ok. I always thought that it dirtied it somehow or, more than anything, it would make it less enjoyable. But the Cartoonists of the podcast “Webcomics Weekly” made a great point that this notion of integrity in art is a modern concept and that Artists for the majority of time were “for hire”; otherwise, they wouldn’t be able to survive.

      Also, I have gotten better with my time since this article. Still a work in progress but I’m more pleased with my results than before.

Leave a Reply

