My Favorite Classes In College

When I look back at college, my favorite classes where of an artistic or creative nature. I realize now that my minors should have been my major but that’s neither here or there.  I greatly enjoyed taking creative writing classes, graphic art classes and the occasional performing arts class. I also loved learning about theatre history and english literature. Those subjects allowed me to dream of bigger and grander things. It’s probably why I’m a big fan of fiction over nonfiction books to this day.

There is something about art, in all its’ mediums, that I’m drawn to. I like to imagine myself as a great author of books, or a magnificent artist/cartoonist of some kind or a  brilliant thespian/screen actor. It’s definitely fun to imagine the fantastical and run away in your dreams but to work towards those goals is quite another story.

It definitely takes work, ambition and determination. As Thomas Edison said, “Genius is one percent inspiration and 99 percent perspiration.” I have quite a bit of work to do to get started towards those dreams and make them a reality. Whether I accomplish any of these goals isn’t the point. The important thing is the effort I make towards them. The point is the journey and how you take it.

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Classes In College

  1. Indeed!

    My favorite classes were definitely the more practical (in terms of applicable to my passions and ultimate life’s work). It’d be nice to see more colleges like the New School, where studies cover more relevant life lessons and embrace the creative and/or entrepreneurial spirit.

    I mainly enjoyed my computer, writing, art (cartooning especially), speech, and psychology classes throughout my formal education years. Sadly, most of these classes stuck to the stale format of theory over hands-on work. Nothing beats a workshop environment where you can take a project and put your own personal touch on it!

    Another great read, my friend. I wish I could be as concise and impactful at the same time.

    /me takes notes

    …BTW, I thought it was Willy Wonka that said that? ;o)

Leave a Reply

