And Once Again, I’m On The Other Side Of The Fence

I decided to do some more research on Safari RSS to see if my possible transition would be a good one. Needless to say, I became wary of a security issue that Safari had around a year ago. Even though a security patch has since been implemented, I’d hate to make myself vulnerable to a possible breach in the future. And then, along my net-surfing horizon, NetNewsWire appeared before me.

The NetNewsWire RSS reader software syncs with Google Reader as well as with your desktop and iPhone seamlessly (so I won’t have to spend anytime importing my feeds from Google Reader after all. Phew! Time saved).  I decided to download the free app on my iPhone to give it a try.  Despite it’s 3-star rating on the app store, I found it to run smoothly and comparable to Safari RSS if not slightly better. Not only that but because they’re all in-sync, unlike glitchy Apple Mail, everything is marked off as read once I mark it. So I don’t have to go to Google Reader or the desktop version of NNW to make sure everything matches (something that needs to be worked on with Apple Mail’s IMAP option w/gmail). I’m really looking forward to downloading the desktop app tonight and give it a go.

So just as quickly as that, I’m opting to using an alternative to an Apple product.  I’ll stick with my MacBook Pro, and Snow Leopard because that has been my best PC experience thus far (and of course my iPhone has been my best smartphone/cellphone experience as well). But if there is an open-platform option for anything else that will work to my satisfaction I’ll gladly make that jump.

Leave a Reply

