Trying the way of Taoism, well sorta

“Finish each day and be done with it. You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; begin it well and serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

— Ralph Waldo Emerson

As I reflect on yesteryear and analyze some of my little pet-peeves and anxieties, I’ve come to the realization that I need to just take it a little easy and just let things come to me where they may.  I need to stop fretting over the lack of time in my regular work day, or worry about making ends meet. I need to stop lamenting on past failures, or let societal ills bring me down. And most of all, I need to stop getting frustrated over the little bumps and obstacles I stumble across throughout my day.  As the quotation from Ralph Waldo Emerson states, “tomorrow is a new day.”

Now this epiphany may be a momentary one, that will easily dissipate with the currents of my mercurial reactionary state of mind.  But at least for the moment I think I’ve grown enough, that I can drop some of the weight I’ve been carrying on my shoulders which has also, I feel, done nothing more but tax me on the very things I was worrying about in the first place.  Hmm.. It’s definitely something to think about.

Leave a Reply

