Need more self-control

Sometime today, I received an email from Amex informing me of this great deal on an HDTV (a Sharp Aquos 42″ inch 1080p LCD for $400 in case you’re wondering), and I felt an immediate impulse to go for it. Unfortunately or maybe fortunately, depending on how you see it, they were only selling 50 of them and I had to purchase it at a certain time. Naturally, when the time came and I clicked on the buy button I was locked out of the deal and they wanted me to keep clicking on buy, in hopes that someone would bail on the deal leaving me an opportunity to dive in. After doing this for roughly five minutes, I decided to get back to work and come back after completing a task. A few minutes later, I came back and it was sold out.

This little scenario made me feel a little cheated and really jonesing for a new TV set. Of course, my wife tried to break through my hysteria with reason but I wasn’t listening. I saw a decent deal in Walmart (though not as close as the one that I lost out on), and even put the TV in my cart, created a log-in and proceeded to check out. As I was filling out my information and adding some accessories that I would need (HDTV cables, etc), I once again rethought about how much in the hole this would put me in and my current financial situation.

I wrestled with my faculties and my constant need for shiny new gadgets and in the end reason won out and I just cancelled the whole ordeal. I mean I still have a decent TV, I already got the Tivo HD and I can always get an HDTV later (the prices will only get lower as time goes on). Still the urge was and still is lingering deep inside me. I just have to keep telling myself that when I’m more financially sound my future purchases will only be that much sweeter.

One thought on “Need more self-control

Leave a Reply

